Change your cover photo
Crown Point Press
Change your cover photo
This user account status is Approved

This user has not added any information to their profile yet.

Founded in 1962 by Kathan Brown, Crown Point Press is publisher and printer of fine art etchings. Artists travel to its San Francisco studio to make prints with the technical assistance of its master printers. Wayne Thiebaud’s first project at Crown Point Press was in 1964; his last was in 2019. During their lifetimes, Richard Diebenkorn, Sol LeWitt, and John Cage frequently worked at Crown Point Press, and they strongly influenced how the printers approach their work. Since its beginning, over 100 artists have made prints at Crown Point including, more recently, Tomma Abts, Darren Almond, Mamma Andersson, Anne Appleby, John Chiara, Leonardo Drew, Marcel Dzama, Mary Heilmann, Jacqueline Humphries, Tom Marioni, Jockum Nordström, Chris Ofili, Gay Outlaw, Laura Owens, Ed Ruscha, Alyson Shotz, Shahzia Sikander, Patricia Trieb, Charline von Heyl, Catherine Wagner, Mary Weatherford, and John Zurier. Crown Point Press celebrated its 25th birthday with an exhibition at New York’s Museum of Modern Art, and its 35th in 1997 with exhibitions at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco and the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. In 2012, at the 50th anniversary of the Press, Kathan Brown published her memoir, Know That You Are Lucky, and the exhibition Yes, No, Maybe: Artists Working at Crown Point Press opened at the National Gallery. It featured 125 working proofs and final prints by 25 artists who worked at Crown Point Press from 1972 through 2010. Crown Point’s archives are owned by the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco and the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.
Publisher of Fine Art Prints

Tomma Abts
Vito Acconci
Darren Almond
Mamma Andersson
Anne Appleby
William Bailey
John Baldessari
Robert Barry
Robert Bechtle
Christian Boltanski
William Brice
Brad Brown
Christopher Brown
Günter Brus
Edgar Bryan
Chris Burden
Daniel Buren
John Cage
Enrique Chagoya
John Chiara
Francesco Clemente
Chuck Close
Robert Colescott
Bruce Conner
Tony Cragg
Elaine de Kooning
Richard Diebenkorn
Peter Doig
Rackstraw Downes
Leonardo Drew
Marcel Dzama
June Felter
Eric Fischl
Joel Fisher
Dan Flavin
Terry Fox
Helen Frankenthaler
Pia Fries
Hamish Fulton
Katsura Funakoshi
April Gornik
Hans Haacke
Mary Heilmann
Al Held
Robert Hudson
Jacqueline Humphries
Bryan Hunt
Yvonne Jacquette
Joan Jonas
Anish Kapoor

Alex Katz
Per Kirkeby
Jannis Kounellis
Joyce Kozloff
Robert Kushner
Bertrand Lavier
Li Lin Lee
Sherrie Levine
Sol LeWitt
Markus Lupertz
Robert Mangold
Sylvia Plimack Mangold
Brice Marden
Tom Marioni
Julie Mehretu
Susan Middleton
Robert Moskowitz
Dorothy Napangardi
David Nash
Joan Nelson
Jockum Nordström
Odili Donald Odita
Chris Ofili
Nathan Oliveira
Gay Outlaw
Laura Owens
Judy Pfaff
Janis Provisor
Markus Raetz
Laurie Reid
Tim Rollins + K.O.S.
Ed Ruscha
David Salle
Sean Scully
Wilson Shieh
Alyson Shotz
José Maria Sicilia
Shahzia Sikander
Amy Sillman
Kiki Smith
Pat Steir
Wayne Thiebaud
Patricia Treib
David True
Richard Tuttle
Charline von Heyl
Catherine Wagner
Mary Weatherford
William T. Wiley
Fred Wilson
John Zurier